Celtic CEO joins European Club Association executive

Peter Lawwell

Celtic said its chief executive Peter Lawwell has been voted on to the influential executive board of the European Club Association’s 19th General Assembly in Geneva.

“Representatives from the 162 member clubs attended the election at the start of the new 2017-19 ECA membership cycle as 11 board members and four ECA representatives on UEFA’s Professional Football Strategy Council (PFSC) were elected,” said Celtic.

“Peter Lawwell was among the newly-elected ECA PFSC Members, with the others being Josep Maria Bartomeu (Barcelona), Ed Woodward (Manchester United) and Nasser Al-Khelaifi (Paris Saint-Germain).

“Following nine years of service since the ECA was founded in 2008, outgoing Chairman, German international legend, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge has been awarded an ECA Honorary Chairmanship as he made way for Andrea Agnelli, President of Juventus, who was elected as the new ECA Chairman for the forthcoming two-year cycle.”

The full ECA Executive Board for the 2017-19 membership is as follows:

Chairman: Andrea Agnelli (Juventus)

1st Vice-Chairman: Pedro Lopez Jimenez (Real Madrid)

2nd Vice-Chairman: Edwin van der Sar (Ajax)

3rd Vice-Chairman: Dariusz Mioduski (Legia Warsaw)

4th Vice-Chairman: Aki Riihilahti (HJK Helsinki)

Members: Ed Woodward (Manchester United), Ivan Gazidis (Arsenal), Josep Maria Bartomeu, (Barcelona), Nasser Al-Khelaifi (Paris Saint-Germain), Jean-Michel Aulas (Olympique Lyonnais), Michael Gerlinger (Bayern Munich), Michael Verschueren (Anderlecht), Domingos Oliveira (Benfica), Anders Horsholt (Copenhagen) and Peter Lawwell (Celtic).